cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Anyone else had a repeat 8mb brick on 320 ssd AFTER firmware update.

idata
Esteemed Contributor III

Had my 320 ssd for a month, all going well till a usb device BSOD my win7, rebooted to find my disk at 8mb. Waited for firmware update last wednesday as lots of forum discussion. Did Secure erase and firmware update to v1.9 and restored partition on friday. Today usb BSOD again (visual studio blow up, im a software developer) and rebooted to find the drive again 8mb. Anyone else had this problem, looks to me like the firmware update did not fix this type of issue.

Greg.

86 REPLIES 86

idata
Esteemed Contributor III

Yes. I ran all manner of disk checks before the crash (which showed no problems with the disk itself) and after, which showed it fine. And now I realize the source of my confusion-- for better or worse, HP (who shipped my laptop with this drive) place their recovery partition on this disk, so there is another sizeable partition on that disk (20GB, I think) that should not be there.

When I get my replacement disk, I will partition it properly, since I have recovery media.

idata
Esteemed Contributor III

For fun, here it is barely a month later and the REPLACEMENT brand new Intel 320 SSD has also 8MB bricked. It had the most current firmware and everything else. How is this not a scandal?

It was easy enough to fix the other one so I could use it until the replacement arrives-- just did a secure erase, but why the eff can't I get more than three or four weeks of life out of a drive?

The punchline was when I called HP tonight to tell them of the second drive failing, the guy on the phone began by suggesting I look into a Solid State Drive because they do not fail.

idata
Esteemed Contributor III