cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Anyone else had a repeat 8mb brick on 320 ssd AFTER firmware update.

idata
Esteemed Contributor III

Had my 320 ssd for a month, all going well till a usb device BSOD my win7, rebooted to find my disk at 8mb. Waited for firmware update last wednesday as lots of forum discussion. Did Secure erase and firmware update to v1.9 and restored partition on friday. Today usb BSOD again (visual studio blow up, im a software developer) and rebooted to find the drive again 8mb. Anyone else had this problem, looks to me like the firmware update did not fix this type of issue.

Greg.

86 REPLIES 86

idata
Esteemed Contributor III

In my opinion Intel should have recalled this product.

But they chose to gamble with customer data - really unbelievable!

idata
Esteemed Contributor III

I have a 600GB Intel 320 SSD drive that I flashed the firmware update on back in Sept of 2011.

Today, March 28, 2012, I experienced the dreaded 8MB bug. This is simply unacceptable.

# fdisk -l /dev/sda

Disk /dev/sda: 8 MB, 8388608 bytes

255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 1 cylinders, total 16384 sectorsUnits = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytesSector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytesI/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytesDisk identifier: 0x00000000

# hdparm -i /dev/sda

/dev/sda:

Model=INTEL SSDSA2CW600G3, FwRev=4PC10362, SerialNo=BAD_CTX 00000136

Config={ Fixed } RawCHS=16383/16/63, TrkSize=0, SectSize=0, ECCbytes=0 BuffType=unknown, BuffSize=unknown, MaxMultSect=16, MultSect=16 CurCHS=260/1/63, CurSects=16380, LBA=yes, LBAsects=16384 IORDY=on/off, tPIO={min:120,w/IORDY:120}, tDMA={min:120,rec:120} PIO modes: pio0 pio3 pio4 DMA modes: mdma0 mdma1 mdma2 UDMA modes: udma0 udma1 udma2 udma3 udma4 udma5 *udma6 AdvancedPM=no WriteCache=enabled Drive conforms to: unknown: ATA/ATAPI-2,3,4,5,6,7

* signifies the current active mode

idata
Esteemed Contributor III