cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Anyone else had a repeat 8mb brick on 320 ssd AFTER firmware update.

idata
Esteemed Contributor III

Had my 320 ssd for a month, all going well till a usb device BSOD my win7, rebooted to find my disk at 8mb. Waited for firmware update last wednesday as lots of forum discussion. Did Secure erase and firmware update to v1.9 and restored partition on friday. Today usb BSOD again (visual studio blow up, im a software developer) and rebooted to find the drive again 8mb. Anyone else had this problem, looks to me like the firmware update did not fix this type of issue.

Greg.

86 REPLIES 86

FKhan6
New Contributor

I have had two 600 GB drive fail both with latest firmware. First one was RA by intel (very efficiently). But the problem happened on the new unit as well. Tried to escalate the issue with intel but did not get anywhere.

Here is what I got back from intel:

With regards to your inquiry, you may refer to our FAQ posted on Intel Communities website:

/thread/24121 http://communities.intel.com/thread/24121

Here's a part taken from the website:

What should I do if I have not experienced this issue?

To minimize occurrence, if a system requires a shut down, Intel recommends using that system's standard power shut down sequence. As with any storage device, Intel recommends users frequently back up their data. Download and install the new firmware when it is available. As with our previous firmware updates, a secure erase is not required.

We would like to apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused.

Have decided to cut my losses, and go with another brand.

FKhan6
New Contributor