cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How I think I Bricked my 520 SSD

idata
Esteemed Contributor III

I think I figured out how I bricked my 520 SSD. I somehow got an unknown password set in it. There is no way to clear or reset the mystery ATA password in this type of drive so it is dead. I have a lot of experience with hardware drive encryption and have used them many for years. So this was all pretty strange and took a lot of digging to resolve.

I searched the net for others having similar problems and there are a few that apparently did the some thing and lost their ATA password too.

WARNING! - DO NOT TEST THIS THEORY YOURSELF!!

I just want to warn you NOT to do what I did!

1. I was going to simply Secure Erase the drive to replace one version of Linux with another so I wanted a clean disk.

2. I used the usual Partition Magic Boot DVD to erase the drive using the secure erase command. I don't have any computers running Windows anymore so the Intel Windows programs are useless.

3. I turned off the computer, turned it back on, put in the DVD, and the ATA hard drive password prompt comes up.

4. I typed in the ATA password and the computer passed that step and booted off the CD and the tools all came up in Partion Magic. The SSD drive was there all ready to go.

Did you catch the mistake there!? Neither did I... But I NEVER CLEARED THE ATA PASSWORD! Intel's SSD tool box will not secure erase with the password set... But Partition Magic and a whole lot of other disk wiping tools will! They don't care because they will just reset the password to off or "NULL" actually.

5. I performed the secure erase with the option to reset the ATA password to NULL. It took the usual 1 second and reported that it worked just fine with no problems at all.

6. I put in the Linux software loading DVD and hit reboot.

"Reboot" does not ask for the ATA password so I did not notice a problem then.